waiting in the shadows

Winter shadows

Energy swirls, swirls, swirls.  All around it rises and crescendos and falls.  Like a song it sings itself into our hearts, around our busy pumping aortas, into the lively steps of the cells.

Aren’t we humbled by energy’s dance?  When we know she rises and falls, rises and falls.  No up exists without a down.  No down stumbles without a rise.  We breathe in; we breathe out.  Life breathes us.

Tears spark inside my eyes, like matches.  Someone tries to kindle a fire.  I want to dance breathless with cold through the snowbanks, in the snowbanks, around the snowbanks.  Yet they loom too deep.

Do we wait forever inside the basement door, peering out, or shall we join hands and plunge into the cold?  You go first.  I’ll follow.

12 thoughts on “waiting in the shadows

  1. “Life breathes us.”

    Kathy – I enjoyed this post and the beautiful supporting photograph — Winter Shadows.

    We leave at 3pm to catch a flight for Eleuthera Island in the Bahamas to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. I’ll post an island thought and photograph every-other-day on Speaking from the Heart (http://holessence.wordpress.com/). Please stop by and enjoy the tropical sunshine!

    I want to thank you again for yesterday’s post on Lake Superior Spirit: How to write a WordPress blog & get a zillion hits! (http://upwoods.wordpress.com/). Dynamite!

    • Laurie, once again Baby Blog thanks you. Have a wonderful time on your trip! I will look forward to checking out your photographs. (Did I tell you that my daughter and I will be heading down to Florida next week? So then you can see palm tree pics from Lake Superior Spirit, too. We won’t have cabin fever any more, will we?)

      Thanks also for your kind words about the Zillion Hits blog. It hit the front page of WordPress and it really IS getting a zillion hits. Ohmygosh. That is why I have retreated to baby blog over here in the shadows where it’s quieter. LOL! Have a great trip!

  2. I found your blog a bit at random but I wanted to say that I really enjoyed reading this. It put a sort of quietness in me today that I needed. Writing poetry does the same for me. 🙂

    • Jessica, smiling at the quietness you’re feeling. And glad these words supported it. (I am having kinda a hectic day and the words are helping to calm me down. Thank you for stumbling upon this blog.)

  3. Hi Kathy,

    I just *knew* when I read your post on Monday that you would get close to a zillion hits on that alone! I am so pleased for you.

    And I really like reading your Baby Blog – we get to see a slightly different side of you. I’ve noticed its tone is more intimate, personal, playful, experimental, and poetic… It seems to be less ‘out there’ like your Upwoods blog, if that makes sense! 🙂

    Hm… Actually, it doesn’t make much sense to compartmentalise your blogs. They are all part of you and expressions of your spirit, perhaps just along slightly different channels?

    This one, for instance, makes me think of a mountain spring, bubbling up from below the ground, underneath layers of rock and earth and frost and snow… Very curious to see where it will take you (and us!).

    • Yes, Reggie, this blog is totally different than the other ones…it feels like a place to play, to experiment, to express without as many limits. If that makes sense. This blog doesn’t WANT a zillion hits. It shakes its head and frowns at the thought. (at least this morning–it’s 5 a.m. and it looks like we’re awake, blurry-eyed, after yesterday’s excitement.)

      Love your image of a mountain spring. Hope you’re having a good day.

    • Thank you, Cindy Lou. Glad you enjoyed… Am trying to pull together enough to write a blog back at the “other place” but have a bit of catching up to do first. Gonna send you a tiny little something in the mail soon.

Leave a Reply

