Ode to what’s atop our head

Frozen white deer hair

Strands of hair flowing atop heads.  Silky brown hair, black dancing hair, curly riotous spirals of blond, flaming red locks.  Our hair cropped close against our faces.  Our hair growing long, plummeting toward earth.  Our hair coiffed up, braided like sweet grass, clasped and caught  behind the neck’s curve.  Joy atop our head.

Our hair.  Our crowning glory.  Our challenge.  Our biggest nightmare.  A mother’s hiss:  “Do something about your hair!”  Our despair.  Our bad hair days.  Our bad hair years.  Our bad hair life.

Hair lying outswept against our pillow.  Hair blowing in the wind of life.  Lockets clipped; treasured in baby books.  Hair patted and colored; hair brushed and combed.

After despairing of  my wild hair once, a young lass insisted, “But curls are consciousness!”

This morning I met a newly bleached friend and commented on her blond hair.  “Just covering the awful gray,” she sighed.  I sighed back, “Yep, my awful gray is just in plain sight to the world….” and off we drove with our respective heads of hair.

But wait!  Awful gray?  Awful gray?  What were we saying?

Gray IS consciousness, ladies and gentlemen! Gray is the hair’s journey toward wisdom.  We start with color, hues of individuality, a rainbow of potential.  Through our chakras we rise toward union with Spirit.  At the top of our head, ’round the crown chakra, the color white halos, the color silver spirals to the white clouds. 

Gray is hair’s movement toward white, toward the divine.  My grandmother’s hair turned precious white as she aged.  Our gray reflects turning toward the sacred.  White contains all the colors, a pool of every hair ever dreamed by the Universe.

Gently, gently, stroke  open fingers through your hair.  If white strands catch in your soft combing, feel your heart swell in joy.  If  hair disappears, look how close you are…nothing separates you now from the divine.

It’s getting closer everyday. 

Hair knows.  It’s always known.  Admire its seasons.  May I brush yours?

8 thoughts on “Ode to what’s atop our head

  1. It is always good to meet another woman who is proud of her gray hair, who doesn’t colour it as if it is something of shame.

    I am not very gray yet, but am watching intrigued as more and more threads are mixed in with the dark brown.

    Since my life has steadily improved as time goes by, I do not miss youth. Sure it was nice to be smaller, slimmer and cuter, to have more flexibility and less aches. But look at how much life and love and wisdom and joy and perspective we have gained!

    Hugs, Kathy!

  2. Finally, Kathy, my white hair is getting the respect it deserves! I love my hair – I let it go gray wen I turned 50. People say, “I’d let mine go gray if it was as pretty as yours.” But – they don’t know how pretty theirs might be – they’re afraid to exist as gray-heads! I think my hair reflects who I am at nearly 66 years of age.

  3. I’m with Laurie, I have never, and will never, color my hair! My husband’s aunt has very long and very beautiful gray hair. Whenever someone asks her why she doesn’t color her gray hairs she replies, “Why should I? I’ve earned every one of them!”

  4. Not sure I can say I will NEVER cover my grey. It’s just starting for me, just now in my 52nd year. My dad, who’s 76, still only has a few grey hairs. My younger sisters take after my mother, and both have lots more grey than me. Is it awful to say that I want to look as young as I feel, or is that the Clairol talking? I only recently started kayaking, hiking Grand Canyon, and I love that my younger friends include me in these outdoor adventures without making allowances for my age (percieved or actual). I’m strong and able and I want to look strong and able. Like it or not, appearances impact perceptions. Whatever decision we make is a personal one, I guess.

  5. Dear ladies & your hair–Loving that you stopped by to comment. Darcy, interesting reflections! I think we all need to look deep inside ourselves and decide what’s right for each of us. What makes us feel best about ourselves…that’s what counts. I’m sure our hair would want that for us. smiling…

  6. Kathy,

    I went to sleep thinking about this. We really do “identify” with hair. I never realized how much. Must be because it is attached to a face, which is like attaching to a personality.

    In the last year, I have been exploring aspects of myself.

    The deep wisdom, Mie, short white curly hair and pure love gentle smile. Sitting in a gorgeous garden wearing a purple gown.

    The playfulness, Agatha, red curly bouncy hair and pearl bracelet with shiny red heart charm, my inner child.

    What struck my attention, after reading your blog, was that for each, their hair is a major aspect of my “feeling” of what they represent about me.

    My own hair is dirty dishwater blond. An elderly neighbor used to give me a hard time about not coloring it. I did color it, until I came to live with my husband. He asked me to stop doing it; and that was fine by me, though I loved the very light blond, I had favored from my late teens.

    There are a few grays there now. I wish it were very gray. That would be fun. My husband’s is becoming very gray. At least, he got his mom’s hair, and not his dad’s baldness (unfortunately, for his younger brothers, they both inherited that).

    Thanks for any interesting read.
    Deborah

  7. Deborah, fascinating thoughts about what hair represents to us at different stages of our life. Glad you enjoyed this. It’s delightful when you think so deeply about things and share them…

Leave a Reply

