Even spiritual arguing allowed

Perception

Perception

The mind is an amazing computer, is it not?  It sorts, categorizes, discriminates, reminds, organizes.  It scans the environment for pertinent information and assists us daily in making decisions, deciding directions and determining options.  What a gift!  Don’t you love it when you’re down the basement, clueless as to why you marched down the steps, and the mind whispers so helpfully, “The sauerkraut!  You came down to get the sauerkraut from the food room!” and you suddenly remember and bow before the wisdom of the mind, “Oh thank you so much, Phew!”

Three cheers for the mind.  (May it continue to cooperate with the whole of us evermore, Amen.)

Then again, let’s now ponder the effects of our beloved mind.  Our mind–being what it is–likes to create.  And simplify.  It adores putting Life into something simple, utilitarian and handy that it can produce at a moment’s notice to save us from offensive lions or bears.  It is not attracted to confusion and chaos and not-knowing.  It simply wants to know and keep us safe.

It will take huge murky subjects and decide “what it believes”.  It also creates the entire world of separation, subject and object, and then draws a sword to defend the separate self it hath created.  It fixates attention on certain aspects of the world and determines what is verily true or false.  It often decries shades of gray.  It many times latches upon either 1) white or 2) black and proceeds to defend its viewpoint onto death.

“Off with their heads!”  shouts the Queen of Hearts in Alice and Wonderland.  Is that her answer to the opinions of the world, or an invitation to move the energy lower into the heart and body?  Without the mitigating effect of the heart and body, we often remain trapped in our mind-worlds, defensive and ornery, insisting our singular simplified viewpoints unto death.

And, oh, how our minds contain singular simplified viewpoints at times.

An invitation to wholeness often starts with examining the mind’s rigidity and exploring that truth.  Is our latest belief true?  Can it ever be proven true?  Is it accurate?  Is it true NOW?  (It may have felt true six weeks ago, but is it true in the living moment?) One then takes the question into the body and feels attached sensations.  What are the sensations attempting to clarify about the belief?

It is interesting (and sometimes painful) to watch spiritual folks fight.  They sharpen their spiritual knives and attempt to behead the opposing viewpoint.  Those of us trained to recognize the arising of duality also fall prey to defense.  Sometimes we even fight more intensely than those without spiritual background.  I know I have struggled more intensely in the face of dualism after recognizing the All.  It’s as if the stakes go up.  You’ve seen the world implode and you can’t go back to the poker game betting the same dollars. Ego often kicks in with a vengeance insisting that its way is the only way, damn it!

Spiritual folks will post amazing non-dual statements on Facebook.  Then another fellow comes along and bashes the thought to death with other spiritual-sounding words.  A third person defends the first viewpoint.  A fourth person agrees with the second.  It’s a hoopla!  Then comes along another being throwing out all non-dualism.  “This non-duality is all crap!” announces the fifth.  Sixteen people arrive to agree with this position, followed by seventeen who defend.  The war accelerates.  All in the name of non-duality.

If one has glimpsed the non-dual with no separation between internal and external, one may have recognized the inherent wholeness.  When spiritual folks argue in our world and we feel an internal reaction, who is really fighting? The external world and the internal world are ONE.  (Yes, we could argue the validity of that statement until the cows come home, but I don’t know how to better utter this in actuality.  I could say that the external world is a mirror to the internal, but that still implies duality.  It’s one thing.  This, just this.  Unless we’re viewing it from relativity.  Then it’s 10,000 separate things.)

When the alleged external world exerts an unsettled inner sensation within us, Mind is ringing our school bell.  Here’s where we can learn!  Where our limited viewpoint can be opened.  If we’re listening to a separate thought and religiously believing it:  here is yet another opportunity to expand our world.

If I listen to spiritual people disagree and feel uncomfortable–here is another golden moment to relax into the challenge of staying present with the raw sensations arising.  My stomach may hurt; the chest feels hard and painful.  Which position am I defending at the expense of another?  Where am I rigid, fixated upon a belief which no longer serves the whole?  Where am I feeling confused, raw, chaotic, disturbed?  Can I feel where the ego feels lost and threatened? Can I stay right HERE without propping myself up in a comfortable viewpoint which eases my pain, my not-knowing?

Ahhh, yes…I relax a bit more…allowing yet another lost child back into being.  There is room here for all sides.  The sides that fight, argue and judge.  Yes, you too can exist here.  You too can post your status on the wall of Mind.  You too can love or hate non-duality.  You too can hurt. (And the side that doesn’t want to accept fighting is allowed too, the darling pacifist, another precious “separate” shard of self.)

What isn’t allowed Here in what is?  Where is the sacred cow that can be brought into consciousness?  What no is ready to be transformed into a yes?  What yes is ready to allow a no as part of the whole?

I bow to my teachers every day.  Thank you, spiritual ones, for arguing and disagreeing and bringing forth more unconsciousness unto the light.

6 thoughts on “Even spiritual arguing allowed

    • Barbara, thank you so much! Do you sometimes write because you are trying to articulate something just out of reach? That’s what I felt like here. I was feeling contracted around an issue–spiritual arguing–and just kept writing through and around it. Clarity kept arising as I wrote. And something inside kept relaxing, saying, ahhhh, this too is OK. I so appreciate that you commented.

      • Kathy, I used to write in my journals for exactly that reason. Also, when I was younger and I had something really important to say to someone I would write them a letter because I could focus and find my thoughts so much better that way. Even now, most of my thoughts, especially “spiritual” ones, are pretty wordless (much as I love words) and I have great trouble getting them out coherently in conversations. I do love your writing – your words bring me clarity, too, and a peacefulness I find hard to explain.

        • Barbara, if you feel peacefulness after reading these words, you are surely experiencing them at a level deeper than thought. I think if people read these words trying to understand them, they might be in for the opposite of peacefulness. I so appreciate you, my friend.

  1. Kathy, all through my reading of this a passage kept coming across my mind, even while I tired to silence the thoughts so I can hold the words that you were sharing, the journey you were or are on. The passage is from PRONOIA is the antidote for paranoia. Rob Brezsny it is considered a “DailyPractice:” Push hard to get better, become smarter, grow your devotion to the truth, fuel your commitment to beauty, refine your emotional intelligence, hone your dreams, negotiate with your shadow, cure your ignorance, shed your pettiness, heighten your drive to look for the best in people, and soften your heart~even as you always accept yourself for exactly who you are with all your so-called imperfections.”

    Spiritual arguing to me is ego getting in the way, spiritual elitism creating what the world religions have done for eons, My way is the right way, so you are wrong. To be spiritual is to allow all thoughts, to be the guide to people who are seeking, to know when and where someone is on their journey of discovery.

    • Thank you, Jeff. I love that part from Rob Brezny “grow your devotion to truth”. And accepting who we are with all our imperfections. Loved Skyping with you last night. Thanks for your friendship.

Leave a Reply

